Coronavirus (COVID-19) Questionnaire

Mission Hospital McDowell

Remains safe for care


Wolfenbarger_Carol_PhotoCarol Wolfenbarger, RN, BSN, MSN, FACHE CEO, Mission Hospital McDowell

Carol Wolfenbarger is board certified in Healthcare Management and is a Fellow of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE). For more than three decades, she served hospitals and health systems in east Tennessee, most recently as Chief Operating Officer/Chief Nursing Executive at Jefferson Memorial Hospital in Jefferson City, Tennessee. In that role, her accomplishments included achieving Top 100 Hospitals designation three years in a row and achieving Top Performer status from The Joint Commission for two consecutive years. She previously held leadership positions at Morristown Hamblen Healthcare System in Morristown, Tennessee, and Cherokee Health Systems in Talbott, Tennessee. Wolfenbarger also served for several years as instructor/adjunct faculty for first- and second-year RN Associate Degree students at Walters State Community College in Morristown, Tennessee. Wolfenbarger holds both BS and MS degrees in nursing from the University of Tennessee.

Our Board of Trustees

  • Steve Jones, Chair
  • Jed Rankin, Vice Chair
  • Margaret Sullivan, MD, Chief of Staff
  • Sherron Crawford
  • Ray McKesson
  • Harold Walker
  • Bobbie Young
  • Greg Lowe, North Carolina Division President
  • Carol Wolfenbarger, CEO